f you missed your court date, then once 20 days have passed from your court date, the court will report your failure to appear to the NC DMV if you still have not appeared in court to answer the charge or disposed of the case. If your case was disposed in court by a judge, and you failed to pay the amount ordered by the judge within the time ordered by the judge, then once 40 days have passed from the failure to pay, the court will report your failure to pay to the NC DMV if you still have not paid.
Law enforcement officers typically note on the ticket whether the offense is waivable, and, if so, the fine and court costs that you must pay in order to waive.
All traffic tickets include a court date, but you may be able to dispose of your case without appearing in court. The options include “waiving”, which may be done online, in person, or by mail, or requesting an online reduction or online dismissal from the District Attorney’s office.
If you are found guilty or responsible for a traffic offense, this could affect your automobile insurance rates. You can view a chart showing insurance points for various offenses in the Consumer’s Guide to Automobile Insurance, produced by the North Carolina Department of Insurance.
The court system reports final convictions and findings of responsibility for traffic violations to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. The NC DMV (or the DMV in your home state if you are licensed elsewhere) can assess points or take other action against your driver’s license for traffic violations if you are found guilty or responsible, including by waiving the offense. If you accumulate too many driver’s license points, your driver’s license can be suspended.
A limited driving privilege is a document signed by a judge that allows a person whose license has been suspended or revoked to drive for certain limited purposes, such as driving to and from work, or driving for emergency medical care. If a judge has issued a limited driving privilege to you, you should take care to drive within the limitations the judge has set. If you violate the conditions of the privilege, you may be charged with driving while license revoked.
You have the right to hire an attorney for any traffic violation, but are not required to do so. An attorney can advise you on the consequences of a ticket in your situation, negotiate with the prosecutor on your behalf, and represent you in a hearing if needed. If you choose to represent yourself, the court will expect you to follow the same rules of evidence and procedure as a licensed attorney.
Driver’s licenses can be revoked for many reasons, including the following: a conviction for certain offenses, such as driving while impaired and excessive speeding; refusing to take a breath or blood test when arrested for driving while impaired; accumulating too many driver’s license points for traffic offenses; and failing to appear for, or failing to pay, a traffic ticket.
North Carolina speed limits are controlled by general statutes and local and state ordinances. Within incorporated municipalities, the statutory speed limit is 35 miles per hour unless otherwise ordinanced and posted. The statutory speed limit on roads outside incorporated municipalities is 55 MPH unless otherwise ordinanced and posted. Some highways have speed limits of up to 70 miles per hour on certain sections. However, the speed limit along these routes may drop to 55 MPH when they pass through certain areas.